Local Government Elections

The next local government ordinary elections will be held in October 2021.

Councillors are elected for terms of four years in Western Australia. Elections are held every two years for half of the council, and candidates are elected using the first-past-the-post voting system. If a vacancy occurs within a term, an extraordinary election is held.

Prior to an election being held the Council determines whether it wishes to appoint the Electoral Commissioner to run the election as a postal election or whether it wishes to run it as an ‘in-person’ election.

To be eligible to vote in an upcoming election individuals need to ensure that they are on the electoral role. For local government elections, rolls close at 5.00 pm, 50 days prior to polling day. All electors should check their enrolment details are up to date before rolls close.

If the number of candidates is equal to the number of vacancies, the candidate is elected unopposed. If there are more candidates than vacancies, then the election will proceed. For more detailed information visit https://www.elections.wa.gov.au/elections/local

Extraordinary Election Results - 17 October 2020

Elected to Dinninup Ward:
Steele Alexander - 3 year term

Elected to Scotts Brook:
Darren King - 3 year term

Election of Shire President and Deputy President

A Special Meeting of Council was held on Tuesday 21 April 2020 to elect the President and the Deputy President for the 2020-2021 term of office.

Congratulations are extended to Cr Richard Walker, elected to the position of Shire President and Cr Helen O’Connell elected to the position of Deputy Shire President.

Please see below a diagram of the shire boundaries which includes Benjinup, Boyup Brook, Scotts Brook and Dinninup ward.