Formal recognition of contributions and achievements made by Boyup Brook Community Members began in 1985. The inaugural winners of the Citizenship Award were Mr & Mrs Ted McLaughlin and the following year Mr and Mrs Fred Proctor were honoured.

There are three Boyup Brook Award categories and they are:

  • Citizenship Award
  • Sports Person Award and
  • Young Achiever Award

The formal Awards presentations are held annually in conjunction with the Shire’s Australia Day celebrations. Nominations are call for in October and close late in November each year. Nomination forms are available from the Shire office. Nominations are confidential and they are assessed by an Awards Committee made up form a number of Councillors and the Chief Executive Officer. Because of their confidentiality, nominations are asked to be submitted in a sealed envelopes marked with the appropriate award category.

If you know someone you believe deserves recognition for their dedicated service to the Boyup Brook Community then please nominate them! The Nomination forms are easy to complete and the process can be as simple or as detailed as you would like.

Shire Policy O.11 Annual Awards Process provides you with all the details you need to know about the Awards. This document along with the individual nomination forms are available from the “DOCUMENT CENTRE” page.


Year Citizen of the year Sportsperson of the year Young Person of the Year
1985 E & M McLaughlin    
1986 F & T Proctor    
1987 G & I Miller    
1988 Mrs M Reeson    
1989 Mrs D Moulton    
1991 Mrs P Ritikis / Mr T Bickford    
1993 W & D Hales    
1994 L & J Chambers / Mrs B Miller    
1996 Mrs E Carnaby / C & E Rohrlach   Kim Askew
1997 Frank Palmer / Joan Lee Steere    
1998 Audrey Smith / Rex Lee Smith Michael Wallace  
1999 Sandie Blackiston    
2000 Peg Clancy    
2001 Sue White Steve Brown  
2002 Noreen Tuckett Felicity Miller  
2004 Anne Beadle Chris Mead Charles Caldwell
2005 Liz Parker Owen Miller Alex Vaughan
2006 Marjorie Shone Eric Biddle  
2007 Daly Winter Tristan Mead Samantha Mead
2008 Peter Loder    
2009 Colin Barron Ted Willett Jordan Nix
2010 Rhonda Parker Merridee Waters  
2011 Lynne Schreurs David Millington Hannah Chambers
2012 Maria Bogar Brett Biluta  
2013 Shirley Broadhurst Scott Tweedie  
 2014 Sharon Winter / Margaret Hales  Rosslyn Chilwell  


Events Calendar